RSS, google reader, delicious and other things that used to make no sense to me….

I am by no means a computer geek. I have trouble understanding how to use the simplest of software.

However, over the past few weeks I have been trying hard to follow in my Multimedia journalism class and figure out how to use all this online material to help me become a better journalist.

‘Delicious’ is a great site. You can post links that interest you. You can follow along with certain genres of post by subscribing to a tag. You can follow people who post interesting links. My site doesn’t have many bookmarks yet but check it out if you like….

Jim has taught us all about ‘google reader’ now. It’s basically a way of collecting all the news and posts that interest you in one place. It works a bit like an email account, you just log on and then browse the net finding RSS feeds that you think will be useful to you. These feeds then appear (updated automatically) in your ‘reader’.

And, for those of you (like me last week) who have no idea what RSS feeds are, I will explain it as I understand it (in the context of google reader). Sorry if I am totally wrong.

That little orange symbol on the right is the symbol for RSS feeds. When you click on that (they are on most websites) you will go through to a simplified version of the page you were on before. You can then copy the URL into your new google reader account and that feed will then always feature when you log in.

Leave a Reply

